Cystic Fibrosis Foundation - Click here for homepage
Stay Informed  |  Volunteer  |  Clinical Trials

In This Section

Quick Links

Find a Chapter

Print  

Study Name: Early Treatment of New Onset of Methicillan Resistant Staphylococcus Aureus (MRSA) Growth in Respiratory Culture
Study Type: Interventional
Intervention Category: Anti-Infective
Study Sponsor: Muhlebach, Marianne

Funding for this trial has been provided in full or in part by Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Therapeutics, Inc.
Study Phase: 2
Recruitment Status: Recruiting
Study Drug(s): Multiple systemic antibiotics
Number of Participants Being Recruited: 90
Single / Multi-Center: Multi-Center
STUDY BACKGROUND INFORMATION:
Methicillan-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) is one germ that can cause a lung infection in people with CF. MRSA is harder to treat than other forms of the germ Staphylococcus aureus. In both people with CF and people without CF, MRSA can make some people sick and other people can have the germ without getting sick. People with CF who grow MRSA in their respiratory culture for the first time will be randomly assigned to either an early eradication protocol group who will receive treatment because their culture is postive or to an observational group that will only receive treatment if respiratory symptoms occur (the current typical approach toward treatment of positive cultures for MRSA).
ELIGIBILITY
Age: 4 Years - 45 Years
FEV1: >= 30 Percent Predicted
P. aeruginosa status: Not applicable
B. cepacia status: Not applicable
Other Primary Eligibility Requirements:

Subjects must have first OR early MRSA colonization and MRSA at screening
Note: Detailed eligibility criteria information may be available on clinicaltrials.gov. If a specific trial listing for this trial is available, a link to the specific clinicaltrials.gov listing will be present in the "More Information" section below.
FOR MORE INFORMATION:
Sponsor Contact Information: Hocevar-Trnka, Jasna
(206) 884-7527
jasna.hocevar-trnka@seattlechildrens.org
Trial Specific Link on ClinicalTrials.gov: http://www.clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT01349192?term=mrsa+and+cystic+fibrosis&rank=1
Clinical Research Terms Glossary: Click here
PARTICIPATING SITES:
The sites listed below are currently recruiting subjects. Please note that this list generally lists either the pediatric or adult program but not both even though both programs may be recruiting subjects. Also, this list does not include sites that may be participating in the study but are not yet open for recruitment. If you are interested in this study please contact your center for more information.
AL
  • The Children's Hospital/University of Alabama at Birmingham (Pediatric), Birmingham, AL, 35233
    Contact Information:
        Hathorne, Heather
        Phone: (205) 638-9568
        Email: hhathorne@peds.uab.edu
CO
  • Children's Hospital Colorado (Pediatric), Aurora, CO, 80045
    Contact Information:
        Pardee, Churee
        Phone: (720) 777-6162
        Email: churee.pardee@childrenscolorado.org
FL
  • University of Florida (Pediatric), Gainesville, FL, 32610
    Contact Information:
        Baker, Dawn
        Phone: (352) 273-5417
        Email: bakerdj@peds.ufl.edu
MI
  • University of Michigan Health System (Pediatric), Ann Arbor, MI, 48109
    Contact Information:
        Kruse, Dawn
        Phone: (734) 615-3266
        Email: dmkruse@umich.edu
MN
  • Children's Hospitals and Clinics (Pediatric), Minneapolis, MN, 55404
    Contact Information:
        Johnson, Mahrya
        Phone: (612) 813-6384
        Email: mahrya.johnson@childrensmn.org
MO
  • St. Louis Children's Hospital Washington University (Pediatric), St. Louis, MO, 63110
    Contact Information:
        Rodgers, Denise
        Phone: (314) 286-1176
        Email: rodgers@kids.wustl.edu
  • St. Louis Children's Hospital Washington University (Pediatric), St. Louis, MO, 63110
    Contact Information:
        Burks, Patricia
        Phone: (314) 454-5175
        Email: Burks_P@kids.wustl.edu
  • St. Louis Children's Hospital Washington University (Pediatric), St. Louis, MO, 63110
    Contact Information:
        Hicks, Tina
        Phone: (314) 747-2707
        Email: Hicks_T@kids.wustl.edu
NC
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Pediatric), Chapel Hill, NC, 27599
    Contact Information:
        Barlow, Carol
        Phone: (919) 966-9146
        Email: cbarlow@med.unc.edu
NE
  • University of Nebraska Medical Center (Pediatric), Omaha, NE, 68198
    Contact Information:
        Acquazzino, Diane
        Phone: (402) 559-6275
        Email: dracquaz@unmc.edu
  • University of Nebraska Medical Center (Pediatric), Omaha, NE, 68198
    Contact Information:
        Telfer, Raquel
        Phone: (402) 559-6275
        Email: raquel.telfer@unmc.edu
OH
  • Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center (Pediatric), Cincinnati, OH, 45229
    Contact Information:
        Duan, Lorrie
        Phone: (513) 636-7089
        Email: lorrie.duan@cchmc.org
TX
  • Children's Medical Center of Dallas (Pediatric), Dallas, TX, 75235
    Contact Information:
        Hebert, Andrew
        Phone: (214) 456-5618
        Email: andrew.hebert@childrens.com
  • Cook Children's Medical Center (Pediatric), Fort Worth, TX, 76104
    Contact Information:
        Morris, Trudy
        Phone: (682) 885-1244
        Email: Trudy.Morris@cookchildrens.org
  • Baylor College of Medicine (Pediatric), Houston, TX, 77030
    Contact Information:
        Schaap, Nicoline
        Phone: (832) 822-4252
        Email: nxschaap@texaschildrens.org
WA
  • Seattle Children's Hospital (Pediatric), Seattle, WA, 98105
    Contact Information:
        McNamara, Sharon
        Phone: (206) 987-3921 X1
        Email: sharon.mcnamara@seattlechildrens.org
  • University of Washington Medical Center (Adult), Seattle, WA, 98195
    Contact Information:
        Aitken, Moira
        Phone: (206) 543-3166
        Email: moira@u.washington.edu
Back to top