Rod Pampling Golf Classic a Class Act

October 26, 2007

It was high noon on a cool, sunshiny day when 138 gallant golfers took to the greens for the Northeast Texas Chapter, Dallas Office’s twelfth annual Rod Pampling Golf Classic on September 17, 2007. Joining PGA pros Rod Pampling, Rory Sabbatini and John Senden, guests braved the challenge of the Tournament Players Club Craig Ranch course, known as one of the more difficult courses in North Texas. Even the occasional detour into a sand trap or lake failed to diminish the enthusiasm of the golfers or the crowd that gathered to cheer on their efforts. 

Rod Pampling Golf Classic
Big-ticket auction winners C. Stacy Smith, Bill McCann, Greg Galbraith and Greg Potter surround golf pro Rory Sabbatini. Their prize? A chance to caddy for Rory in a future golf game. 
After an exhilarating round, golfers retired to the clubhouse to relax, cool off, and take a look at the auction items up for grabs. The hottest items going, four tickets to all four of the major PGA golf tournaments and the chance to caddy for champ Rory Sabbatini in 2008, were purchased for a sizzling $60,000 by golfers C. Stacy Smith, Bill McCann, Greg Galbraith, and Greg Potter (see photo). Tickets to Ten Flags, dinners at area restaurants, golfing packages, and signed golfing memorabilia also got snapped off the auction block. 

The event scored a hole in one, raising an impressive $200,000—an increase of $80,000 from the previous year’s Classic total—for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. Event chair Dave Andersen noted, “I am always amazed at the generosity of our guests. They come through for us  in support of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation every time.”

In addition, the afternoon was a resounding success thanks to corporate sponsors First Choice ER, Allen Samuels Dodge-Hyundai, White Rock Capital, John Spencer Custom Homes, SPX/Bud Martin, Bill and Dulce Andersen, Kimberly Clark Corporation, American Messaging, Dave Andersen, Kent Dickson, and Charter/Time Warner Communication. 

Special thanks also go to Marketing/Public Relations Chair Meaghan Evanich, Auction Chair Tracey Zimmerman, and Operations Chair Scott Price.