Cystic Fibrosis Foundation - Click here for homepage
Stay Informed  |  Volunteer  |  Clinical Trials

In This Section

Quick Links

Find a Chapter

Get Assistance

Get Assistance - Cox Boys
We are here to help people with CF get the insurance coverage they need. Hear how the Foundation helped the Cox family.

Join us on Facebook!  Facebook 
Follow us on Twitter!   Twitter
Follow us on Instagram!  Instagram 
Add us to your circle in Google+!


Subscribe to our channel on YouTube!  YouTube  



Bookmark and Share   Print  

CF Care Centers Recognized for Excellence and Commitment to Quality Care

November 7, 2013

At the 27th annual North American Cystic Fibrosis Conference (NACFC) in Salt Lake City, six CF care centers received the 2012–2013 Cystic Fibrosis Foundation’s Quality Care Award.

The awards were presented during a luncheon where members of the CF Foundation’s leadership team updated care center staff on progress in CF research and care and thanked attendees for their work on behalf of people with the disease.

The Quality Care Award recognizes centers that have continuously demonstrated a commitment to improving the quality of care they provide to people with CF. This year’s awardees are:

  • Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago & Northwestern University
  • Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
  • Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey — RBHS-RWJMS
  • Children’s Hospital of Buffalo
  • University of Rochester Golisano Children’s Hospital at Strong
  • Vanderbilt Children’s Hospital & Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Foundation-accredited care centers across the country provide multidisciplinary, specialized care for nearly 28,000 people living with the disease.

“Our care centers are at the heart of what we do each and every day to help people with CF live longer, healthier lives,” said Robert J. Beall, Ph.D., president and CEO of the Foundation. “I applaud these hardworking men and women for their dedication to the CF community and commitment to our shared mission to cure this disease.”

About the Awards

The Foundation instituted the Quality Care Awards in 2008. Recipients of this year’s awards were chosen by the CF Foundation Center Committee from the care centers visited during fall 2012 and spring 2013. Centers that received the honor excelled at meeting the following quality improvement performance standards:

  • Actively uses clinical outcomes data to identify opportunities for improvement and documents results of improvement efforts.
  • Aligns improvement efforts to result in measurable improvement in important clinical outcomes.
  • Consistently and actively involves patients and families in identifying, designing and/or implementing improvement efforts.
  • Employs innovative strategies to improve care processes and outcomes.
  • Implements system changes that result in high reliability of care processes.

Watch the slideshow below to see more photos of the Quality Care Awards.

The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation is an accredited charity of the Better Business Bureau.