Congressional Cystic Fibrosis Caucus

The Congressional Cystic Fibrosis Caucus unites bipartisan members from both chambers to raise awareness for CF; support CF research, drug discovery, and development; encourage collaboration between the public sector and private organizations; and support access to quality, affordable care for people living with CF.

5 min read
In this article
Congressional CF Caucus Co-Chairs
  • The Congressional Cystic Fibrosis Caucus represents members from both the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate who work to improve the quality of life for the nearly 40,000 people living with CF in the United States.
  • The CF Foundation works with the caucus to ensure they understand cystic fibrosis and how policy proposals would impact people living with the rare disease.
  • People in the CF community are welcome to invite their members of Congress to join the caucus.

The Congressional Cystic Fibrosis Caucus is a bicameral (both houses), bipartisan organization of the U.S. Congress that works to improve the quality of life for the nearly 40,000 Americans living with CF. The caucus is comprised of nearly 100 members of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate who work to:

  • Support CF research funding through the National Institutes of Health (NIH), U.S Food and Drug Administration (FDA), and other federal research agencies
  • Encourage collaboration between the public sector and private research organizations, including the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation and the biopharmaceutical industry
  • Advance public policies that address access to adequate, affordable health care

Frank Deford, former chairman emeritus of the CF Foundation, joined Dr. Francis S. Collins, director of the NIH, to launch the Congressional Cystic Fibrosis Caucus in 2006. The caucus was led in the U.S. House of Representatives by then-Reps. Edward Markey of Massachusetts and Cliff Stearns of Florida. In 2016, now-Sen. Markey, along with Sen. Chuck Grassley of Iowa, expanded the caucus to the U.S. Senate. Today, the bicameral caucus is chaired by Sens. Grassley and Markey, along with Rep. Mark Amodei of Nevada and Rep. Jim McGovern of Massachusetts. The CF Foundation partners with the caucus, providing members with updates on the CF community, tours of CF care centers, and meeting with members’ staffs to discuss legislation that would impact people living with CF.

Caucus members include:

Caucus Co-Chairs

  • Sen. Charles Grassley (R-Iowa)
  • Sen. Edward Markey (D-Mass.)
  • Rep. Mark Amodei (R-Nev.)
  • Rep. Jim McGovern (D-Mass.)

Caucus Members by State


  • Rep. Robert Aderholt (R)
  • Rep. Michael D. Rogers (R)


  • Rep. Raul Grijalva (D)


  • Sen. John Boozman (R)
  • Sen. Tom Cotton (R)


  • Rep. Julia Brownley (D)
  • Rep. Ken Calvert (R)
  • Rep. Judy Chu (D)
  • Rep. Jared Huffman (D)
  • Rep. Ro Khanna (D)
  • Rep. Barbara Lee (D)
  • Rep. Ted W. Lieu (D)
  • Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D)
  • Rep. Doris Matsui (D)
  • Rep. Raul Ruiz (D)
  • Rep. Adam Schiff (D)


  • Sen. Michael Bennet (D)
  • Rep. Diana DeGette (D)


  • Rep. Joseph D. Courtney (D)
  • Rep. Jim Himes (D)
  • Rep. John Larson (D)

District of Columbia

  • Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D)


  • Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R)
  • Rep. Kathy Castor (D)
  • Rep. Lois Frankel (D)
  • Rep. Brian Mast (R)
  • Rep. Bill Posey (R)
  • Rep. Greg Steube (R)
  • Rep. Frederica Wilson (D)


  • Sen. Raphael Warnock (D)


  • Rep. Michael Simpson (R)


  • Rep. Janice Schakowsky (D)


  • Rep. Andre Carson (D)


  • Rep. James Comer (R)


  • Sen. Susan Collins (R)
  • Sen. Angus King (I)
  • Rep. Chellie Pingree (D)


  • Rep. Jamie Raskin (D)
  • Rep. C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D)


  • Rep. Bill Keating (D)
  • Rep. Stephen Lynch (D)
  • Rep. Seth Moulton (D)
  • Rep. Richard Neal (D)


  • Rep. Debbie Dingell (D)


  • Rep. Emanuel Cleaver (D)
  • Rep. Sam Graves (R)


  • Sen. Steve Daines (R)
  • Sen. Jon Tester (D)


  • Rep. Don Bacon (R)


  • Sen. Jacky Rosen (D)
  • Rep. Susie Lee (D)

New Hampshire

  • Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D)
  • Rep. Ann McLane Kuster (D)

New Jersey

  • Rep. Donald Norcross (D)
  • Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr. (D)
  • Rep. Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D)
  • Rep. Mikie Sherrill (D)
  • Rep. Chris Smith (R)

New York

  • Rep. Yvette D. Clarke (D)
  • Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D)
  • Rep. Paul Tonko (D)
  • Rep. Nydia M. Velazquez (D)

North Carolina

  • Rep. Richard Hudson (R)


  • Rep. David P. Joyce (R)
  • Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D)
  • Rep. Robert E. Latta (R)


  • Rep. Kevin Hern (R)


  • Sen. Jeff Merkley (D)
  • Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D)
  • Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D)


  • Rep. Matt Cartwright (D)
  • Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R)
  • Rep. Glenn Thompson (R)

South Carolina

  • Rep. Jim Clyburn (D)
  • Rep. Joe Wilson (R)


  • Rep. Steve Cohen (D)
  • Rep. Scott DesJarlais (R)


  • Rep. Michael Burgess (R)
  • Rep. John Carter (R)
  • Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D)
  • Rep. Louie Gohmert (R)
  • Rep. Vicente Gonzalez (D)
  • Rep. Kay Granger (R)


  • Rep. Chris Stewart (R)


  • Sen. Peter Welch (D)


  • Rep. Gerald E. Connolly (D)
  • Rep. Robert J. Wittman (R)


  • Sen. Maria Cantwell (D)
  • Rep. Suzan DelBene (D)
  • Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D)
  • Rep. Derek Kilmer (D)
  • Rep. Rick Larsen (D)
  • Rep. Adam Smith (D)

West Virginia

  • Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R)


  • Rep. Mike Gallagher (R)
  • Rep. Marc Pocan (D)
Share this article
Advocacy | Public Policy
You Might Also Be Interested
Join Us in Advocating for People With Cystic Fibrosis

Sign up for advocacy alerts by texting “FIGHTCF” to 96387 to join a list of volunteer advocates.  

*Message and data rates may apply. Reply STOP to optout, HELP for help.

Sign up today