Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Congratulates Recipients of 2015 Research and Care Awards

At the 2015 North American Cystic Fibrosis Conference (NACFC) held on Oct. 8-10 in Phoenix, Arizona, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation announced the recipients of seven awards given to members of the research and medical community whose achievements have helped advance cystic fibrosis research and care. 

Oct. 16, 2015 | 3 min read

President and CEO of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, Preston W. Campbell, M.D., presented the inaugural Robert J. Beall Therapeutics Development Award to Drs. Luis Galietta and Alan Verkman; and Aurora Biosciences and Vertex Pharmaceuticals Inc. Drs. Galietta and Verkman were honored for their pioneering work in adapting high-throughput screening for CF, while 19 scientists from Aurora and Vertex were honored for their work in developing clinical proof of concept of the small molecule approach, which helped bring the first CFTR modulators to fruition.

Senior Vice President of Research Affairs, William Skach, M.D., presented the Richard C. Talamo Distinguished Clinical Achievement Award to Australian Drs. Peter Sly, Stephen Stick and Claire Wainwright. Drs. Sly and Stick were recognized for their work in developing a surveillance program which has helped determine risk factors for the onset of CF lung damage as early as infancy.  Dr. Wainwright was recognized for making seminal contributions to the understanding of early childhood lung disease, particularly in the diagnosis of lung infections in children with CF.

Senior Director of Patient Engagement, Cindy George, presented the second annual Mary M. Kontos Care Champion Award to non-physician members of a care team who have made significant contributions to the field of day-to-day care. The honorees were: Elizabeth Bryson, a pediatric pulmonary nurse practitioner at the Children's Hospital Medical Center of Akron CF care center; and Kim Reno, a CF social worker at the CF Center of Northwest Ohio.

Senior Vice President of Clinical Affairs, Bruce C. Marshall, M.D., presented the Quality Care Awards to nine CF care centers that have demonstrated sustained commitment to quality improvement with tangible results; the Outstanding Partnership Awards to 12 CF care centers that have gone the extra mile in partnering with their local CF chapter to support our shared mission; the Junior Investigator Award for Best Abstract in Clinical Research to David Niccum, University of Minnesota; and the Junior Investigator Award for Best Abstract in Basic Science to Daniel Cook, the University of Iowa.

Congratulations to all of our 2015 award recipients. 

Share this article
North American CF Conference
Recent news
Cystic Fibrosis Community Perspectives Influence Future of CF Care Model
News | 4 min read
CF Foundation Adapts Registry Reporting to New Race-Neutral Standards
News | 5 min read
Nearly 350 Advocates Urge Congressional Action During 17th Annual March on the Hill
News | 3 min read
You might also be interested in...
Stay up to date with The Foundation

Sign up for our newsletter to get all of the latest news from The Foundation right in your inbox.